Cathrine Erichsen

Thoroughbred racing trainer



Svensk Galopp

BUCKWALK (DEN) ch g 2017

Crocker Road - Blowing Bubbles / Songandaprayer

Owned by: Myrvang Racing |  Bred by: Buck Racing AB

Son of Blowing Bubbles, winner of 4 of her 13 races, incl. Kay Jensen Pris.

Half-brother to Breeders' Prize Sprint winner Buckybabe.

Buckwalk strolling home

Buckybabe - fourth straight win

Two Times celebrated

1 Two Times 2 Buckyboy

Easy as one-two-three!

11 Nov 20: What a way to end the season! Having saddled winners of 32 races going into this season finale, including two fourtimers on racedays earlier this autumn, Cathrine saw three more winners go in on this Wedneday fixture; Buckwalk opened the show with a visually impressive off-the-pace win over 1100 metres, and his half-sister Buckybabe took her fourth straight win in the space of three weeks as she cruised home over 1600 metres later on the card. To cap it all, Two Times and Buckyboy finished first and second as they met over 2400 metres towards the end of the show. Buckwalk's win was guided by Nora Hagelund Holm, who became champion apprentice, and she followed up by partnering Two Times to his third success in 2020. Buckybabe, one of the absolute stars these past weeks, had Elione Chaves in the saddle. 

Most winners and an incredible strike rate

Cathrine Erichsen's team sent out winners of 35 races this season, five more than the champion trainer, and the stable's strike rate is an incredible 26%, five points better than the champion trainer. While championships for riders are decided in terms of races won, the trainers' championship is based on prize money. This is also how it's done in England, while all premier tracks in North America decide the trainers' championships based on number of races won. Whichever way we handle this, it will always favour the stables with most horses, generating the highest number of starters. All the more impressive, therefore is it that Cathrine notched 35 wins from 129 runners, compared to Niels Petersen's bottom line; 30 wins from 144 runners.